Cromer Music Evenings


Review by Terry Keeler
24 April 2016
Jane Lindsay - Cello
Jennifer Hughes - Piano

Cromer Music Evenings in their aim to bring to Templewood artists of extremely high standards, again succeeded in engaging, for the second time, two performers of top quality, maintaining the standards of which the audiences at Templewood, over the years, have come to expect.

Beethoven's Horn Sonata in F major Op 17 written in 1800, being transcribed for piano and cello, immediately stamped upon the listener the masterful authority these two artists were capable of with its opening bars, boisterous in execution, creating an overall feeling of exciting splendour as the music progressed through to the minor key in the poco adagio and back to the major in the rondo allegro molto.

The Bruch Kol Nidrei originally written for the valveless French horn only started to sell after being transcribed for cello and piano! This piece being based on two old English folk melodies, enhanced by the depth of timbre from the cello, filled the room with a warmth and emotion made possible by the command Lindsay has over the instrument, made in England by Peter Walsmley in 1746.

Mendelssohn's Variations Concertantes Op 17 written in 1829 involving many diverse textures and sonorous sounds of the cello, with tempo ranging from andante con moto to presto agitato, ably managed by the two performers with visual and technical ease.

Sonata in F major Op 6 by Richard Strauss written in 1883 when only 17 years old, in three movements, brought an exhilarating performance from the two highly talented musicians who have, without doubt, the performance abilities to go far in their musical careers.

Terry Keeler
Tel 01263 513273